Paddy Power & Total Politics Political Book Awards

Written by Paddy Power and Total Politics Political Book Awards Winners on 7 February 2013 in Diary
The victors from the tightly contested awards evening in central London

Last night saw the inaugural Paddy Power and Total Politics Political Book Awards take place at the BFI IMAX in London. Several hundred figures from the world of politics came to sip champagne, gossip about David Cameron’s relationship with his party, and, most importantly, applaud the award winners. In the audience were numerous MPs, Lords and other luminaries including Jemima Khan, Dan Snow and Ian McEwan. The first award of the evening, for Political Fiction Book of the Year, went to McEwan for his novel, Sweet Tooth.

There will be photos and more news from a fantastic evening in the next issue of Total Politics, out later this month. Below, is a full list of the winning authors, including Caroline Shenton, who won Political Book of the Year for The Day Parliament Burned Down. The £10,000 prize money was donated by Lord Ashcroft, KCMG PC.

Paddy Power and Total Politics Political Book Awards Winners

Political Book of the Year
The Day Parliament Burned Down by Caroline Shenton (OUP)

Debut Political Book of the Year
Cruel Britannia: A Secret History of Torture by Ian Cobain (Portobello Books)

Young Writer of the Year
Owen Jones, author of Chavs: The Demonization of the Working Class (Verso) and columnist on The Independent

Political Biography of the Year
Muckraker: The Scandalous Life and Times of W. T. Stead by W. Sydney Robinson (Robson Press)

 Political Fiction Book of the Year
Ian McEwan’s novel, Sweet Tooth (Jonathan Cape) 

Political Humour/Satire
The Best of Matt 2012 by Daily Telegraph cartoonist Matthew Pritchett (Orion)

International Affairs Book of the Year
Why Nations Fail by Daron Acemoglu and James A. Robinson (Profile Books)

 Polemic of the Year
You Can’t Read This Book by Nick Cohen (Fourth Estate) 

Political History Book of the Year
Fascist Voices by Christopher Duggan (Bodley Head)

Political Process Book of the Year
Ever the Diplomat by Sherard Cowper-Coles (HarperPress)

Lifetime Achievement in Political Literature
Tony Benn for his outstanding contribution to politics and political writing

Tags: Caroline Shelton, Ian McEwan, Jemima Khan, Lord Ashcroft, Matt, Nick cohen, Owen Jones, Paddy power, Political Book Awards, Sherard Cowper-Coles, Tony Benn, Total politics

Share this page


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.