Ministers get their marching orders during 'dreadful' night for Tories

Written by David Singleton on 9 June 2017 in Diary

Ben Gummer was one of five senior Conservatives to lose their seats.

A host of senior Conservatives have been ejected from the Commons during a disastrous general election night for the Conservatives.

Home secretary Amber Rudd clung on to her seat of Hastings & Rye by 346 votes after demanding recounts, but many of her ministerial colleagues were less successful in the general election.

Cabinet Office minister Ben Gummer lost his Ipswich seat to Labour by just 831 votes. Along with Theresa May’s chief of staff Nick Timothy, Gummer was responsible for writing the Tory general election manifesto and had been widely tipped for promotion to a senior cabinet post.

Treasury minister Jane Ellison was beaten by Labour in Battersea and City minister Simon Kirby lost out to Labour in Brighton Kemptown.

Public health minister Nicola Blackwood was ejected from Oxford West and Abingdon by the Liberal Democrats after the Greens pulled out of the contest.

Culture minister Rob Wilson, international development minister James Wharton and housing minister Gavin Barwell were also given their marching orders by voters.

In Croydon Central, Barwell had been sitting on a wafer thin majority of just 165 - and in 2016 he published a book about ‘how to win a marginal seat’.

As the casualties piled up on Friday morning, Tory MP Anna Soubry broke ranks to express her frustration at losing a number of colleagues.

“It was a dreadful night. I’ve lost some excellent and remarkable friends,” she said.

 “This is a very bad moment for the Conservative party and we need to take stock and our leader needs to take stock.”




Picture by: Lauren Hurley/PA Wire/PA Images.


Share this page


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.