Full list of MPs who voted against triggering Article 50

Written by David Singleton on 1 February 2017 in Diary

Ken Clarke was the only Tory MP to take part in the Brexit rebellion after the first reading of the the Article 50 bill.

MPs backed the European Union Bill by 498 votes to 114 on Wednesday night, with 47 Labour rebels voting against.

Here is the full list of MPs who voted against the Article 50 bill at first reading in the Commons, including the shadow ministers who defied Labour's three-line whip.

The bill will now face more debate before it can become law.



Kenneth Clarke


Heidi Alexander
Rushanara Ali
Graham Allen
Luciana Berger
Ben Bradshaw
Chris Bryant
Ruth Cadbury
Ann Clwyd
Ann Coffey
Neil Coyle
Mary Creagh
Stella Creasy
Stephen Doughty
Jim Dowd
Maria Eagle
Louise Ellman
Paul Farrelly
Mike Gapes
Lilian Greenwood
Helen Hayes
Meg Hillier
Peter Kyle
David Lammy
Kerry McCarthy
Catherine McKinnell
Madeleine Moon
Ian Murray
 Virendra Sharma
Owen Smith
Stephen Timms


Labour frontbenchers

Rosena Allin-Khan 
Kevin Brennan 
Lyn Brown 
Karen Buck 
Dawn Butler
Thangam Debbonaire​
Vicky Foxcroft
Rupa Huq
Rachael Maskell
Stephen Pound​
Tulip Siddiq 
Andy Slaughter 
Jeff Smith
​Jo Stevens
Catherine West 
Alan Whitehead 
Daniel Zeichner 


Liberal Democrats

Tom Brake
Alistair Carmichael
Nick Clegg
Tim Farron
Sarah Olney
John Pugh
Mark Williams



Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh
Richard Arkless
Hannah Bardell
Mhairi Black
Ian Blackford
Kirsty Blackman
Phil Boswell
Deidre Brock
Alan Brown
Lisa Cameron
Doug Chapman
Joanna Cherry
Ronnie Cowan
Angela Crawley
Martyn Day
Martin Docherty-Hughes
Stu Donaldson
Marion Fellows
Margaret Ferrier
Stephen Gethins
Patricia Gibson
Patrick Grady
Peter Grant
Neil Gray
Drew Hendry
Stewart Hosie
George Kerevan
Calum Kerr
Chris Law
Angus MacNeil
Stewart McDonald
Stuart McDonald
Anne McLaughlin
John McNally
Carol Monaghan
Paul Monaghan
Roger Mullin
Gavin Newlands
John Nicolson
Brendan O’Hara
Kirsten Oswald
Steven Paterson
Angus Robertson
Alex Salmond
Tommy Sheppard
Chris Stephens
Alison Thewliss
Owen Thompson
Michael Weir
Eilidh Whiteford
Philippa Whitford
Peter Wishart


Plaid Cymru

Liz Saville Roberts
Hywel Williams



Mark Durkan
Alasdair McDonnell
Margaret Ritchie

Green party

Caroline Lucas

Sylvia Hermon

Natalie McGarry
Michelle Thomson

Share this page



Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.