Fresh Labour tensions as Corbynistas grab six NEC spots

Written by David Singleton on 9 August 2016 in Diary

Luke Akehurst was denounced as 'rancid'... while Richard Burgon celebrated the outcome of the NEC vote.

Supporters of Jeremy Corbyn have been accused of “sneering” after they swept the board in elections to Labour's ruling National Executive Committee.

Labour members voted for six candidates backed by Momentum and the Campaign for Labour Party Democracy to represent the constituency Labour parties on the 33-strong NEC. They were Ann Black, Christine Shawcroft, Claudia Webbe, Darren Williams, Rhea Wolfson, and Peter Willsman.

The Blairite group Progress and the “moderate” group Labour First both failed to get their candidates elected.

Current NEC members Johanna Baxter and Ellie Reeves – sister of Rachel Reeves – both lost their seats.

Comedian Eddie Izzard failed in his bid to get on the NEC - proving that even a dose of star power is no match for pro-Corbyn forces these days.

The dedicated grassroots campaigner and Labour First founder Luke Akehurst also missed out by more than 30,000 votes.

The results act as further evidence that supporters of Corbyn are taking up powerful spots within the party machinery. The same left wing slate only took four places in the last round of elections two years ago.

Momentum's founder Jon Lansman tweeted his congratulations to the newly-elected NEC members, while Labour MP Richard Burgon was especially keen to celebrate the election of Wolfson to the NEC. Her victory is seen by some as controversial since she was quoted as saying winning the 2020 general election “should not be the priority” for the party, while she also switched her membership to a different CLP after she was initially blocked from standing because her local party would not support her. 

Meanwhile, one re-elected NEC member number took the opportunity to attack Akehurst on Facebook.

Christine Shawcroft provoked an angry response from allies of the seasoned Labour campaigner after she described him as “rancid”.

Akehurst has angered Corbyn supporters with his repeated criticisms of the leader - but he is no typical Blairite. Rather, he was an enthusiastic supporter of Ed Miliband’s leadership and backed Yvette Cooper for the Labour leadership last year.














The full results of the CLP elections are below: 

BLACK, Ann 100,999 Elected
SHAWCROFT, Christine 97,510 Elected
WEBBE, Claudia 92,377 Elected
WILLIAMS, Darren 87,003 Elected
WOLFSON, Rhea 85,687 Elected
WILLSMAN, Peter 81,863 Elected
REEVES, Ellie 72,514  
IZZARD, Eddie 70,993  
BAILEY, Bex 67,205  
BAXTER, Johanna 60,367  
DHANDA, Parmjit 53,838  
AKEHURST, Luke 48,632  
WHEELER, Peter 44,062  
GALLAGHER, John 22,678  
GUL, Amanat 14,693  



Share this page



Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.