Tories keep London Marathon crown as John Lamont is fastest MP

Written by David Singleton on 23 April 2018 in Diary

Lamont was one of 15 MPs raising thousands for charity this year.

Congratulations to the 15 MPs who braved the heat and completed the 2018 London Marathon – and especially to this year’s fastest parliamentarian John Lamont.

Running his first marathon, the Scottish Tory MP crossed the line in an impressive three hours and 38 minutes. It means he takes the crown from fellow Conservative MP Rehman Chishti who had to drop out of the race last week due to injury.

How did he do it? Writing on Twitter this morning, Lamont suggested that a well-known ginger TV and radio personality might have been his secret weapon. Apparently, a meeting with Chris Evans at the start line was a source of "amazing motivation".



The second fastest MP this year was Welsh Secretary Alun Cairns – aka 2016’s fastest MP -  who came in at three hours 56 minutes.

Speaking to The House magazine last week, he indicated that being a Cabinet minister had got in the way of a few training runs. "I have found training much tougher this year – both in terms of the inclement weather and simply finding the time," he said.

Despite the best efforts of Cairns and Lamont, the record for fastest MP set by Matthew Parris some 33 years ago looks unlikely to be smashed any time soon. The former Tory politician-turned-political columnist ran a remarkable two hours and 32 minutes (and 57 seconds) back in 1985.

Meanwhile Bloomberg News’ politics reporter Alex Morales did the marathon in a very commendable three hours and 33 minutes despite the sweltering heat. And despite running the entire race dressed as a giant pencil - in memory of the late Sky News journalist Ellie Jeffery.


How the MPs did

•    John Lamont (Conservative) 03:38:03
•    Alun Cairns (Conservative) 03:56:46
•    Stuart McDonald (SNP) 03:58:31
•    Tom Pursglove (Conservative) 04:11:23
•    Alex Norris (Labour) 04:24:46
•    Jon Ashworth (Labour) 04:42:02
•    Chris Green (Conservative) 04:48:16
•    Chris Evans (Labour) 04:51:16
•    Nic Dakin (Labour) 05:10:07
•    David Linden (SNP) 05:20:54
•    James Morris (Conservative) 06:01:42
•    Ruth Cadbury (Labour) 06:07:02
•    Nick Smith (Labour) 06:33:44
•    Jenny Chapman (Labour) 06:33:45
•    Shabana Mahmood (Labour) 07:46:32*


*Mahmood picked up an injury part-way round.




Share this page


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.