Alan Johnson beats Ken Clarke to win memoir of the year

Written by David Singleton on 7 December 2016 in Culture

Margaret Hodge was also triumphant in the first ever Parliamentary Book Awards.

Labour MPs Alan Johnson and Margaret Hodge have been announced as the big winners in the inaugural Parliamentary Book Awards, voted for by MPs and peers.

Johnson triumphed over Ken Clarke and Chris Mullin to win Best Memoir by a Parliamentarian.

The former home secretary picked up the gong for his multi-award-winning autobiography The Long and Winding Road, charting his journey from the slums of West London to Westminster.

As he collected the award at a ceremony in the Palace of Westminster, Johnson revealed a wild idea for his next move.

He said: “I’m thinking of a new programme building on Ed Balls’s success — it would be called Strictly Come Baking. We’d do it from Hull. We’d have John Prescott doing the paso doble dressed as a lemon meringue.”

Margaret Hodge was awarded Best Non-Fiction by a Parliamentarian for Called to Account: How Corporate Bad Behaviour and Government Waste Combine to Cost us Millions, reflecting on her time as chair of the Public Accounts Committee from 2010-2015.

In other categories, Melvyn Bragg saw off competition from Nadine Dorries to take home Best Fiction by a Parliamentarian for Now is the Time, bringing the Peasants’ Revolt of 1381 to life.

And John Bew won Best Political Book by a Non-Parliamentarian for Citizen Clem, his biography of Clement Attlee.

See all of the shortlisted books here.





Share this page



Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.