Weekly polling review: No Budget bounce for Osborne

Weekly polling review: No Budget bounce for Osborne

by David Bowers / 27 Mar 2015

The Chancellor's announcements have not had a major impact. Both Labour and the Tories are still set to fall short of a majority

Will Osborne learn from last year's Budget?

Will Osborne learn from last year's Budget?

by Dan Hodges / 22 Feb 2013

This year, Chancellor of the Exchequer George Osborne will have learnt the lessons from 2012’s disastrous budget… won’t he?

A local solution to long-term unemployment

A local solution to long-term unemployment

by Caroline Macfarland / 21 Feb 2013

The solution to long-term unemployment is the localisation of the Work Programme, says Caroline Macfarland 

Advertise with TotalPolitics

Why being eurosceptic may not pay off

Why being eurosceptic may not pay off

by Andrew Hawkins / 20 Feb 2013

Andrew Hawkins examines the field as battle lines are drawn over Europe. Could a non-referendum be Cameron’s Waterloo?

Should our aid budget still be ring-fenced?

Should our aid budget still be ring-fenced?

by Rushanara Ali MP v Gerald Howarth MP / 18 Feb 2013

Yes, says Rushanara Ali MP, it is a moral issue and smart diplomacy. No, counters Gerald Howarth MP, a robust military capability is far more important

Time to speak-easy?

by Charlie Critchell / 28 Jan 2013

Charlie Critchell explains why you need more than a degree in today’s job market

How ready is the PM for 2015?

How ready is the PM for 2015?

by George Pascoe-Watson / 18 Jan 2013

With mere months to go, in political terms, David Cameron already has his strategy laid out for 2015

Winning words: the power of the slogan

Winning words: the power of the slogan

by Dan Hodges / 17 Jan 2013

What’s in a name? Or to be more precise, what’s in a slogan? Forget the manifesto: the right lines will win you the election

Do EU policies still serve our economic interests?

Do EU policies still serve our economic interests?

by Mary Honeyball MEP and Michael Fabricant MP / 17 Jan 2013

Mary Honeyball MEP warns against the dangers of ‘single market-lite’, but Michael Fabricant MP believes our economy is too different from those of other member states

Public inquiries, political inaction

Public inquiries, political inaction

by Josh White / 13 Dec 2012

Let inquiries turn on public opinion, not political spin, says Josh White

Spain, Dickens and ruffles: Jason Beattie's diary

Spain, Dickens and ruffles: Jason Beattie's diary

by Jason Beattie / 12 Dec 2012

The Daily Mirror's political editor gives us a peek into his diary

Get set for Cameron's global race

Get set for Cameron's global race

by George Pascoe-Watson / 10 Dec 2012

Building on last year’s sporting success, will Cameron’s new call to arms inspire the nation or limp in last?

Does social media do more harm than good to politicians?

Does social media do more harm than good to politicians?

26 Nov 2012

Nadine Dorries MP is all in favour of the odd tweet and virtual update, while digital PR director Samantha Phillips believes MPs just don’t strike the right note online

Felicity Parkes on Parliamentary flirting

Felicity Parkes on Parliamentary flirting

by Felicity Parkes / 22 Nov 2012

Allowing an MP certain liberties can be career-enhancing, but where does a researcher draw the line?

An alternative plan for Osborne

An alternative plan for Osborne

by Ian Mulheirn / 21 Nov 2012

Ian Mulheirn offers suggestions for an improved financial recovery plan, putting investment before phasing in future cuts

Adam Boulton's US election diary

Adam Boulton's US election diary

by Adam Boulton / 19 Nov 2012

From shoe-shiners to quants to the KKK, the political editor of Sky News fills us in on his trip to the US for the presidential campaigns

Religion, freedom of speech and cartoons

Religion, freedom of speech and cartoons

by Aisha Gani / 09 Nov 2012

Aisha Gani advocates a considered approach to the reporting of religious conflict

'Ladies try to deprive me of my clothes': James Landale

'Ladies try to deprive me of my clothes': James Landale

by James Landale / 02 Nov 2012

The deputy political editor of BBC News scribbles in his diary about Brazil, conferences and karaoke

Dan Hodges is sceptical about 'Re-generation Ed'

Dan Hodges is sceptical about 'Re-generation Ed'

by Dan Hodges / 02 Nov 2012

Is Ed Miliband finally inking in firm pledges for the future of his party and the country? Or is it yet another false start?

Advertise with TotalPolitics