Weekly polling review: Narrow Tory lead but a ray of hope for Labour

Weekly polling review: Narrow Tory lead but a ray of hope for Labour

by David Bowers / 01 May 2015

Polling figures tend to generalise the impact of Labour’s Scottish decline across the country although it’s a localised phenomenon

Rise of the Austerity MacGuffin as parties seek a miracle cure

Rise of the Austerity MacGuffin as parties seek a miracle cure

by Jamie Gardiner / 23 Apr 2015

Many movies have a MacGuffin. So does the general election, with opposition parties seeking to pull the imaginary anti-austerity lever

Tory manifesto launch was a masterclass in relaunching a brand

Tory manifesto launch was a masterclass in relaunching a brand

by Peter Bingle / 15 Apr 2015

The Conservatives had been running an excruciatingly bad election campaign. David Cameron has now changed of all that

Advertise with TotalPolitics

The McGuffin Effect: I’m mad as hell and Ed Balls needs to stay out of my eyeline

The McGuffin Effect: I’m mad as hell and Ed Balls needs to stay out of my eyeline

by Joe McGuffin / 08 Apr 2015

Right now it’s Operation Hide Balls. Keeping the shadow chancellor out of direct sunlight for a few days.

Lynton’s war machine is getting into gear

Lynton’s war machine is getting into gear

by Scott Colvin / 01 Apr 2015

The often naïvely sunny nature of the 2010 Tory campaign is understandably being replaced by one which will leave many wincing

Weekly polling review: No Budget bounce for Osborne

Weekly polling review: No Budget bounce for Osborne

by David Bowers / 27 Mar 2015

The Chancellor's announcements have not had a major impact. Both Labour and the Tories are still set to fall short of a majority

Weekly polling review: Labour is back in the game

Weekly polling review: Labour is back in the game

by David Bowers / 20 Mar 2015

After last week's stumble, Ed Miliband's party has promptly turned its fortunes around

As Nick Clegg's days look numbered, Tim Farron lies in wait

As Nick Clegg's days look numbered, Tim Farron lies in wait

by Stephen Tall / 17 Mar 2015

There are other runner and riders to be the next Lib Dem leader, but Tim Farron is the natural fit for a party seeking a charismatic campaigner to rebuild it

Weekly polling review: Labour standing still at best

Weekly polling review: Labour standing still at best

by David Bowers / 13 Mar 2015

As Labour’s polling averages continue to wane, David Bowers questions how concerning the figures are for Ed Miliband 

Weekly polling review: All eyes on undecided voters as polls refuse to budge

Weekly polling review: All eyes on undecided voters as polls refuse to budge

by David Bowers / 23 Apr 2015

Labour is very slightly down from last week but it's still all to play for and any changes may be down to statistical chance

The Lib Dems are now pinned in the liberal centre - whether we like it or not

The Lib Dems are now pinned in the liberal centre - whether we like it or not

by Stephen Tall / 16 Apr 2015

The party's 2015 manifesto is carefully calibrated not only to dodge the hostages to fortune of 2010, but also to offer plenty of scope for the Lib Dems to cut a deal

In the race for Number 10, it's Miliband who has the fresher legs

In the race for Number 10, it's Miliband who has the fresher legs

by Kevin Maguire / 13 Apr 2015

Labour's campaign has been suprisingly professional and recent days have proved that Ed Miliband can win this election

The leaders’ debate might be more important than you thought

The leaders’ debate might be more important than you thought

by Stephen Day / 02 Apr 2015

New polling data underlines how smart leadership communications are key to election success

Why this terrible Tory campaign needs to change

Why this terrible Tory campaign needs to change

by Peter Bingle / 31 Mar 2015

David Cameron must decide soon whether his current advisers are best equipped to help him win a majority on 7th May

The PM is preparing to debate... but tonight is NOT the night.

The PM is preparing to debate... but tonight is NOT the night.

by George Pascoe Watson / 26 Mar 2015

David Cameron is getting ready for what he sees as the real showdown on April 30 when David Dimbleby grills the three main party leaders on the BBC.

How the new Gandhi statue testifies to our distinct shared history

How the new Gandhi statue testifies to our distinct shared history

by Lord Bilimoria / 18 Mar 2015

The founder of Cobra Beer and founding chairman of the UK-India Business Council on the enduring impact of Mahatma Gandhi

It is George Osborne who will win the election for David Cameron

It is George Osborne who will win the election for David Cameron

by Peter Bingle / 16 Mar 2015

The Chancellor has the best brain in modern British politics, says a senior Conservative lobbyist

Gearing up for my seventh election heaven

Gearing up for my seventh election heaven

by Jon Craig / 13 Mar 2015

For my first my election, I typed my copy on a manual typewriter. This time it will be all Twitter, Facebook, smartphones, iPad and unique users.

The McGuffin Effect: Politics is no place for cry babies

The McGuffin Effect: Politics is no place for cry babies

by Joe McGuffin / 09 Mar 2015

We are definitely presenting Ed Miliband as a viable prime minister and we are smiling our shit-eating smile

Advertise with TotalPolitics